IELTS: Government should contol Violent Movies and TV programs?

There is more and more violence in movies and on TV, therefore it is necessary for the government to control the amount of it to decrease the violent crimes in the society. Do you agree of disagree?

With the development of multimedia entertainment in recent decades, there has been a growing tendency that assaultive behaviours are constantly presented in the films and TV series. Therefore, most people start to believe that the relevant authorities should administer its rise. Actually, this is correct in many real life situations. 50

Admittedly, violent TV programs bring some benefits to the society. Firstly, it could entertain the individuals who have had an eventful day at workplace. This is because a series of the aggressive TV episodes are exciting and stimulating which would be beneficial for the daily commuters to refresh their mind and release the work-related stress. Secondly, due to the popularity of action movies, every year a huge amount of tax paid from the film producers would become one of significant contributions to government's tax revenue. Under this circumstance, the money could be used to aid other citizens in the community who need an urgent support. 105

However, disseminating the massive unrestricted violent contents on the screen pose a number of negative influences. For the younger generation, it would destruct their mental developments. Unlike the adults, minors are often curious and keen to imitate the violent behaviours which have been sighted from TV programs, possibly because they are mentally immature and incapable of distinguishing the right and wrong. For adults who lack of self-control abilities, an excessive broadcast of the violent action-movies could act as their references to engage with potential criminal activities. The reason for this is that they are able to acquire the essential skills and experience for committing crimes. 105

In conclusion, even though frantic movies or TV programs have some advantages, it is convincing that providing the action movies to the public without restrictions would cause the mental illness of young children and substantial potential convictions. 37 / 297