IELTS 2. Should government control scientific research .

Ques: Scientific research should be carried out or controlled by government rather than private companies. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Scientific research is the base of technological development which has a significant impact on the human lives. Research always involves extensive human resource and economy. Some people are of the opinion that scientific investigation should be carried out by government agencies alone without the involvement of private organization. I agree to this statement and will substantiate my view in this essay.

To begin with, scientific research needs years of commitment and surplus amount of money. For instance, when the research is carried out on human genome, I will take decades to observe the result. While private agencies will not be able to carry on such research, government can. Consequently, government sponsored research can result in mass collaborative projects that are beyond the scope of isolated private research. People are more confident to participate in government involved scientific research as they know government will not conduct research on human without being cent per cent confident of success.

In addition to that, government funded research are knowledge oriented while funding of research by private companies is mainly motivate by profit. Thus profit incentives causes researchers to concentrate their energies on projects which are perceived as likely to generate profit, rather than advancement of the citizen. An additional advantage to the government sponsored study is that results are publically shared for everybody's scrutiny, whereas with privately funded research the ideas are controlled by a single group.

To put in nutshell, it is always for the betterment of the people when the research is conducted and controlled by the government, as they are answerable to the whole nation rather than private agencies who seek their own benefit.