IELTS TASK 2: Should be the government control the water consumption of residents?

As water is a valuable resource, governments all over the world should control how much water their citizens use.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

All of people around the world have to consume water to still alive. Even though water is a sustainable natural resource, inhabitants should use it wisely since there is no guarantee of the water availability. I absolutely agree that government who has the highest responsibility of both human and natural resources has to oversee the water consumption of residents.

Different regions have different population. The total of demography influences the amount of water, an area which has more population will need much water. Basically, the highest consumption of water is acceptable since water is used in many primary aspects such as sanitation and irrigation. In addition, there are many advanced technologies that inhabitants can operate to purify water if the source is limited. To illustrate, citizens who live with polluted water can take a water purification tool, so they have lots of pure water. Therefore, it is not essential for government to manage the water consumption.

However, residents have to realize that sources of natural wealthy such as water is uncertain since it depends on rainfall. These days and ages, the weather is unpredictable, so the drought come in several areas as a serious problem. Taking India, Puerto Rico, and North Korea as the examples, residents in these countries lack of water. They cannot distill the water since there is no water there. Also, if they want to apply the technology to generate artificial rain, they have to spend lots of money. It is not the best solution as it brings negative effects on environment. Consequently, government and society have to cooperate to handle this problem.

To sum up, although inhabitants consume more water for their daily life, government has to ensure that water consumption of residents is not excessive because drought will come undetermined. It will be better if they prevent early this problem.