IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - Government should increase the cost of fuel.

Please give me some advice on my essay. Thank you so much!

Government should increase the cost of fuel.

People think that government should increase the cost of fuel for cars and other vehicles to solve environmental problem. Give your opinion.

It is argued that the environmental issues could be alleviated by raising taxes on fossil fuels. Though I agree with this opinion, I believe that other feasible ways could produce more beneficial impacts on improve the quality of natural habitat.

To begin with, there are some reasons why citizens believe that the government should increase the cost of fossil fuel. Firstly, the authorities play a vital role in environmental preservation. By putting the rise in natural gas prices into action, inhabitants tend to choose public transport for cost-savings rather than using their own vehicles, and as a result, a reduction in transportation and any kind of journeys running on road will be made. In addition, due to the cost rised, government should have investment policies to develop and expand public transport with a view to encouraging people to take buses or train in lieu of driving. Secondly, freight companies might switch to other ways to deliver merchandise, such as rail rather than trucks. Both of these measures would cut down emissions emitted from vehicles, alleviate the green house effect and recover the fresh air quality.

In spite of the aforementioned arguments, I would concur with those who believe that some other potential measures can be added up to solve environmental issues. First and foremost, the government can introduce some policies to monitor the upcoming number of private car ownership. For example, Vietnam has proposed policies to raise taxes and urban road pricing for cars, with a plan to gradually increase the annual fee. Besides public transportation, the authorities should prioritize expenditure on environmentally friendly vehicles like bicycles, electric motorbikes or cars with a view to urging using green energy on citizens. As for the capital of Denmark, Copenhagen is considered one of the most renowned destinations for its cycling culture. Moreover, the increased use of alternative energy could reduce environmental degration from emissions produced from vehicles and assist in the endeavor to combat global warnming.

In conclusion, increasing the cost of fuel might be a useful stopgap measure in some circumstances, I personally believe that government should consider a long-term measure which could exert more beneficial effects on tackle environmental issues.