Should government invest more money in a city infrastructure instead of public transportation?

[TOEFL]Should governments spend more money on improving roads and highways, or should governments spend more money on improving public transportation (buses, trains, subways)? Why? Use specific reasons and details to develop your essay.

Any comments or suggestions are welcomed. Thanks in advance!

To satisfy the needs of the development of our society, some people argue that governments should invest more money in the infrastructure, while some advocate that more money should be spent on improving public transportation. Personally, I am convinced that good public transportation plays a bigger role in the modern society for the following reasons.

Needless to say, the development of our society is largely at the expense of the environment. However, a city with good public transportation will markedly decrease various pollution. For example, if a city has a well-established and convenient transportation network, then most people will undoubtedly choose public transportation over driving their own cars due to lower cost and higher efficiency when they want to go out. In that way, fewer tail gas will be emitted because there are fewer cars on the roads. Furthermore, with more and more people becoming environmentally conscious, tendency to use public transportation instead of driving private cars will be popular among them, which will dramatically decrease the air pollution and restrict gas emission. As a result, building an efficient transportation network is particularly crucial for the whole world to reverse the growth of the greenhouse effect.

What's more, a city with good public transportation will make people's lives safer. For example, most car accidents result from over-crowded traffic condition, drunk driving or delinquencies. Supposing a city has an efficient public transportation, most people will probably choose to take buses or trains, as opposed to driving themselves, when they want to dine out or participate in a party as they do not have to worry about drunk driving. Consequently, they can better enjoy their lives and meantime, fewer tragedies will happen on the road.

Based on the argument mentioned above, I have come to the conclusion that government should spend more money on public transportation. After all, a well-designed public transportation network will not only make people's lives safer but also make the environment better. Therefore, I call on the government to increase the investment into the public transportation.