The government ought to prioritize railways as the primary sector to receive funds rather than roads

The government should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A growing number of people say that the government ought to prioritize railways as the primary sector to receive funds rather than highway. I completely agree with this statement due to its efficiency in time and environmental reason.

Investing in a modern railways system mean that allowing people to travel in greater dinstances in a shorter amount of time. Because the passanger do not have to deal with the traffic congestion which is mostly faced by the highway users. Thus, people will spend less time commuting and more time in doing something more productive. For instance, the local government of South Sulawesi province in Indonesia has begun to construct a railway for trains to connect its capital city (Makassar City) and Parepare city. As a result, the existence of the future trains will diminish commuting time by half and enable thousands of citizens in Parepare to work in the capital city of South Sulawesi province.

Regarding to the environment effect, the trains tend to be less harmful than road vehicles. This is due to the fact that its wide capacity can carry hundreds of passangers and this obviously will prevent the use of road transportation which is widely known as the most carbon dioxide contributors on earth. Hence, once it is happened, the CO2 emissions will automatically be reduced. In other words, this will slower the global warming impact to our environment. For instance, the British government has now used high speed trains to connect one city to another. As a result, approximately hundreds of tonnes of carbon dioxide has been diminished.

To conclude, the policy maker in this case is the government should invest more public budget on railways systems and less on the highways as this will create a time-efficient and environmentally friendly mode of transportation system.