IELTS:Should the government pay for medical care and education?

Q) Should government pay for medical care and education? Why?

ANSWER

State officials and general public have been contemplating for years about the pros and cons of relying solely on the government for funding of medical care and education without reaching any definite conclusion. In my opinion, we should achieve a balance between individuals and authorities.

Firstly, funding of medical care relying solely on government may lead to adverse consequence. The advent of aging society means enormous expenditure of medical authorities. Even though the government can shoulder the economic burden, they must resort to the taxes which mostly collected from the young generation and middle-aged. Maybe the rate of tax will be increased, which will definitely do harm to the society as a whole, especially the young people whose income isn't large enough.

In terms of the educational funding, the cost should be balanced between the families and the educational authorities. Particularly, the education should be divided into basic education and higher education. For the purpose of driving out progress toward a better life both personally and collectively, the basic education should be received by every child. In order to achieve it, government should take most part or even all the cost of basic education. As to the higher education, individuals can shoulder more of the economic burden. Overall, the balance of educational cost should depends on different situations. But, as the well-educated individuals are not only prepared for the well-paying jobs, but they are also able to cope with the dramatic changes of the world, the countries need those people to develop. Without large number of well-educated persons, a country's capacity to grow would be diminished.

In summary, the cost of medical care and education should be properly distributed between the citizens and their government. Furthermore, government should make out a appropriate proportion of it and ensure the enforcement.