IELTS, task2, Government payment for nursery homes.

In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care. Who do you think should pay for this care, the government or the family? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

special care for elderly people

In the UK, elderly usually go to nursery houses in order to take care of them, and it is sometimes the responsibility of the government to provide such care. This essay agrees that government should pay for this service when people get old not their families. This essay will give the reasons that justify such opinion as people spend most of their lives pay taxes when they have the ability to work so it is time to be paid off. Also, elderly need special care that sometimes family cannot provide.

Young people have to give sometimes half of their salaries to the authorities under the title of "taxes" which must go to fund the service provided to people. When people get older they will not be able to work so they deserve to be helped and to have the ultimate care that they need. For instance, Denmark provide a professional house nurse for people when they turn 65 and a weekly doctor visit if they have chronic diseases.

Also, most of elderly people suffer from chronic and mental diseases that require a medical intervention that most of the times cannot be afforded by their families due to their high costs. These illnesses cannot be treated by their families as they need special team and medications ,which are expensive, to deal with their conditions . For example, according to Princeton hospital study, 80% of old people have diseases that could cost their families higher than they earn to only control their situation.

In conclusion, Government in the UK take the responsibility of their own nation to send elderly to special nursery houses. It is agreed that this is a part of the government duty toward their people who spent their lives pay taxes from their own income. Also, this special care cannot be usually provided by their families due to the high cost of it, so government must provide support to this category of people.