Government should persuade workers to go to offices by buses, and build more highways in cities

Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

What other measures do you think might be effective?

In the modern world today, we can not avoid the problems of growing traffic and pollution, especially in big developing cities. Some governments have increased the petrol price to deal with these matters. Indeed this is an effective policy which I am totally agree with and I will prove my viewpoint in the first part of my essay. The remaining part will state some other ways to solve these current hot problems.

Raising the petrol price is a suitable key for traffic jam and pollution. Firstly, high petrol price dissuades people from driving cars and motorbikes, and from using petrol-driven engines at work. This results in less vehicles participating the traffic, less fume exhausted and less heat spread, which means less congestion and pollution. Secondly, as people are diverted from using petrol, they will turn to other fuels such as electricity. For example, instead of driving a gasoline gobbling bike, a student can use an electric bicycle to go to university. By this way, she can save a lot of fuel expense and contribute to the more environment-friendly city. It is for these reasons that the idea of increasing petrol price is supported.

Besides, there are some other solutions for the problems in question. For one, the government can launch a campaign in which there is involvement of all the governmental employees, and persuade them to go to work by public transport, such as buses. This idea will not only help alleviate the problems but also impulse the same actions taken by citizens. In addition to this, it is also effective if the cities build more highways in the air to reduce the traffic load in the main crossroads. In fact, this solution has been carried out in many cities including Hanoi, Vietnam. Hanoi, as an example, are currently building a lot of aerial highways all over the city. In the intersections now at rush hours people hardly see any congestion, showing the effectiveness of the highway method.

In conclusion, governments should raise the petrol price as well as persuade workers to go to offices by buses, and build more highways in cities to reduce traffic jam and pollution, which are serious problems now in the world.