The government should prohibit to smoke in public areas for the sake of community health

In many countries smoking in now illegal in public places

Do you agree or disagree?

Smoking has been one of the crucial problems that caused numerous countries have banned smoking in public spaces. Personally, I agree to restrict the place for smokers due to the injurious to passive smokers and the huge expenditure of this stuff.

Making public spaces clear from smoke would protect those who do not smoke. It is commonly believes that the toxic of cigarette brings pollutant for both active and passive smokers. Based on Health Journal from Gadjah Mada University, 20% of children in Indonesia with lungs cancers or infection in their respiratory system came from smoke environments. Having conducted some research, they also deduced that smoking is dangerous not only for the doer, but also individuals around them who actually has based right to in hale with the uncontaminated air. If government do not arrange no smoking area rules, it will brings detrimental effects for the innocents.

In developing countries, the economic issue also could aggravates this smoking problem. It is commonly recognized that the cigarettes are expensive because of the heavy taxes. In addition, most smokers are addict so they depend on smoke, causing anxiety when they do not taste the nicotine. Meanwhile some studies show surprised data that most low-income families spend 30% of their earning which is the same percentages for meals on cigarette. Thus, by limiting the places to smoke, hopefully it could reduce the number of cigarette consumer and will effects the financial sector positively.

In conclusion, government should prohibits smokers to smoke in public areas for the sake of community health and surged prosperity level. This is why currently many develop countries as well as developing countries label smoking as illegal action in several public places, although sometimes smoking areas is still provided around to separate the active and passive smokers.