The Government Should Provide Free Public Libraries - IELTS WRITING TASK 2

Some people think that the government should provide free public libraries in every town, while others think that this is a waste of money because people can access information on the internet.

Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

While many hold the view that the government should build free public libraries in all towns, others argue that this would lead to a waste of resources as information can be obtained on the Internet today. Although access to digital information is more convenient, I believe that the role of physical libraries in promoting a space for learning cannot be replaced.

Opponents of government building physical libraries argue that accessing information on the Internet is more convenient. This contention is that travelling to public libraries could be inconvenient as it is time-consuming and requires transportation means. In contrast, online websites like Khan Academy and Coursera enable learners to access a variety of academic and professional disciplines anywhere and anytime. This creates more educational opportunities for residents in remote areas and disabled individuals who have difficulties travelling. From this perspective, digital information offers greater accessibility than physical libraries as it caters for a wider range of communities.

Supporters of state funding for free libraries emphasize the importance of such sites in creating environments conducive to learning. For example, reading physical books can encourage readers to make handwritten notes, which has been scientifically supported to improve memorization and long-term retention, and the quiet atmosphere can allow learners to focus for a long period. Libraries also serve as public spaces where personal meetings for people interested in reading and learning similar subjects can be held, offering more interpersonal and interactive learning experiences. Consequently, the ability of physical libraries to make learning more effective and social highlights its superiority over educational websites, where focus could be fragmented by digital devices and in-person interaction is absent.

In conclusion, while the Internet makes obtaining information more accessible, it still cannot replace physical libraries that foster more efficient and interpersonal learning experiences. As a result, I maintain that the state should allocate a reasonable amount of resources to building free public libraries in every town.