IELTS: no government restrictions for creative artists and their work

IELTS: Freedom to Creative artists

Creative artists should always be given freedom to express their own ideas(in words, pictures, music or films) in whichever way they wish. There should be no government restrictions on what they do.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Amount of freedom to be given to artists in order to express their views has always been a topic of interest in all the societies for ages. Should an authority interfere with the idea propagated by a piece of art or should they leave it up to the society's acceptance or rejection? In my opinion there should not be any restrictions whatsoever. This essay will provide reasons with supporting examples in order to prove the importance of providing an absolute independence to art.

In a number of countries authors, through their novels and articles, have helped their society transition from an orthodox and fundamentalist mind-set to a liberal and progressive one. Amidst all the adversaries, by their piece of work they always try to portray a true picture of their respective community. Look at how a noted writer Taslima Nasreen in her creations has criticized the radicalization of Bangladesh. She was out casted by her religion and country for decades but her piece of work is finally making Bangladesh a liberal country. Therefore, it is necessary to provide complete freedom to the artists for a better future of a nation.

Art has an inherent feature to keep people contended and blissful. We have observed that the countries that have interfered with any art form have suffered on the overall happiness index of their citizens. A very good example to look at is Singapore government's ruling to ban street art calling it nothing more than clutter. Street arts are usually used to express anger against atrocities of people in power. A series of such restrictions over songs, movies and news articles have made Singapore harbinger in number of suicide cases reported due to depression. Thus a society cannot be free of frustration with any kind of censorship of expression.

After going through all the above points I can safely conclude that any kind of interference by the government on artist's freedom of expression has always worked negatively for a society. Therefore, it's a necessity for any authorities to stay completely away from any idea of censorship of art.