Essay about should government spend a lot of money on exploring space or on public services

space exploration versus people problems on the earth

Question: Some governments spend a lot of money on exploring space. Some feel that this investment is justified while others think that money should be spent on public services like healthcare and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion. (about 250 words).

In the age of exploration, billions of dollars have been spent on space travels, services and equipment. However, many people claim that government is just squandering and they better invest in public services such as healthcare and education. In my opinion, improving citizens' life should be given more prioprity.

On the one hand, people advocate for budget on public services because most of it comes from citizens' income and their life quality is great of importance. Inhabitants want to receive good healthcare system where they can obtain modern and effective treatment services. Besides, a thriving country comes form an outstanding education. If they invest more in constructing schools or developing future labor resources, the literacy will be increased. Therefore, the awareness of people are enhanced and the country is likely to develop at faster speed.

On the other hand, space exploration assists people to keep track with information and contemporary world. Since the end of World War 2, every powerful country have tried their best to come first in term of space discovery or telegraph technology. As a result, budget on these areas is a necessary. However, it can not come before people's welfare. The major responsibility of a government is obviously facilitating it's inhabitants' life. Once this task is completed, then can it think about the another.

In conclusion, space exploration takes up billions of dollars due to the competition of powerful countries, while budget on improving people's welfare is believed to lead to nation's growth. I suppose budget on space exploration comes after public services because of government's responsibility.