IELTS Task 2 - The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens health

The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens health.

Do you agree or disagree?

Some people argue that more financial resource should be allocated to medical research rather than to the protection of the environment. I'm in a full opposition to the argument.

On the one hand, it is true that investing resource in medical research directly and obviously contributes to the overall improvement of population's health. It allows people to have better knowledge on potential diseases and come up with relevant preventive measures, therefore, significantly reduces the mortality rate. Conducting quality medical research should be encouraged and funded in order to develop cures and precise diagnosis for diseases. Throughout history, if it had not been for medical researches, humankind must have faced and still struggled to combat numerous of diseases that could possibly cripple the well-being of human.

On the other hand, spending money on preserving and protecting the environment has significant impacts on human health in the long run. Healthy population requires a healthy living environment; we cannot be healthy when our habitat is severely polluted. It is evident that a vast number of fatal diseases are associated with the deterioration of the environment such as asthma and cancer. They are the result of the constant overexposure to air pollution and contaminated food-chain. Henceforth, protecting the environment, preventing it from being deteriorated and altered is the earliest preventive measure to ensure a healthy society.

In conclusion, the government should not be in favor of either medical research or preserving the environment. To enhance the average citizen's heath, an equal effort to better the quality of medical research and ensure the well-being of the nature is sensible move for all governments.

(268)