The government should spend money on public services, but investment in the arts is not unnecessary

Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money

People hold different ideas on government investment. While I agree that the government should spend money on public services, I do not think that investment in the arts is unnecessary.

It is true that public services play a vital role in community life which provide certain services like health care and transports to all people regardless of income. In other words, public services ensure that everyone have equal access to the services they need. If the public services are upgraded on a regular basis by government investment, quality of people life will be improved accordingly. Medicare system in Canada, for example, offers free health services to all Canadians regardless of religion or financial status. Since they do not worry about paying extra money for health cost, they can take the primary health care approach to preventing health problems. This is the reason why the rate of death caused illness in Canada is (much) lower than other countries. Therefore, public services should be taken into government's account first before deciding to invest in other ones.