Ielts Task 2-should government spend money on saving languages

HI guys .. I am going to take the test in one week... a bit nervous, and i still feel that my essay has lots of problems..

hope you can give me some suggestions . Thanks you !!

Some people think governments should spend money on measures to save languages with few speakers from dying out completely. Others think this is a waste of financial resources. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

290

Nowadays,nearly no country is immune from the problem of the extinction of some languages. However, people hold different opinions about whether governments should be responsible for rescuing those endangered languages. This essay discusses both sides of this argument and then I will give my own perspective on this topic.

Many people believe that it is imperative for governments to allocate funds to prevent some languages from dying out.For one thing,this action can enrich people's understanding of history,which may inspire them to some extent.There are many historical activities recorded by ancient languages which is at the risk of extinction today,making it possible for anthropologists to decipher historical mysteries by translating those information into modern languages. For another, given that most endangered languages speakers are people from minority groups and it is undeniable that languages can reflect culture,protecting those languages can probably allow the cultural characteristics of certain groups of people alive,preventing cultrual identity being jeopardized.

Nevertheless,there are people questioning the need for protecting moribund languages,claiming that the conservation of languages spoken by decreasing amount of people leads to a financial loss that outweighs the merits. This is because if governments want to preserve those languages,they may need to popularize them firstly.However, compared with those widely used languages such as Spanish,English,or Chinese, the areas where endangered languages are used is rather limited.As a result,less people apt to learn them. Hence,no matter how much money is spent on revitalizing those languages,the effectiveness may not be guaranteed,causing the investments being futile.

In my view,concerning about all those benefits conserving endangered languages can bring to society,governments should distributing money on this area.Though making them spoken by overwhelming number of people may not be possible,governments can only focus on the preserving the research and cultural value of them.