Government spending on the internet - is it the most appropriate use of money? IELTS task 2

Topic: in many countries the governments spend a large amount of money on improving internet access, Why and do you think it is the most appropriate use of money?

All around the world, extraordinary sums of money are being spent by several governments in order to obtain high-quality internet access. Although I agree that such spending is beneficial to the residents, I still think that money should be diverted into other fields such as scientific research or infrastructure.

Investing on the internet is important because it helps improve people's satisfaction and promote e-commerce. People, especially the young, are frequent internet users, who will inevitably feel delighted to be able to check e-mails and surf the web at a greater speed, or chat video with their friends without any interruptions. Moreover, better internet access can have a good impact on e-commerce- an integral part of every country's economy. This is because improvements in internet increase the quality and quantity of online-shopping, attracting a considerable number of online customers.

As beneficial as the internet seems to be, there are still other aspects of life that the authority should take into serious consideration. So as to improve people's living standard, problems relating to transportation must be solved. Infrastructural investment, for example, is extremely necessary as it directly affects every individual in society, rather than just one part of it like the internet. Therefore, governments should pay more to build more highways, reduce traffic congestion and road accidents as well as improve public transport system. Spending more on science is worthwhile as it not only widens human's horizon but also leads to the invention of more advances and conveniences in life. Several scientists and researchers with great brains are calling for funding in their projects, in returns they can make significant contributions to society, and it should be the government's responsibility to help them.

In conclusion, although the internet is important, spending on improving transport system and helping carry out research is a more plausible option. By doing this, the government can improve both individual's life quality and the country's future prospect.