Government support for the elderly. Agree or disagree ?

Governments should not have to provide care or financial support for elderly people because it is the responsibility of each person to prepare for retirement and support him or herself.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Many people have different views on caring and providing aid for the senior citizens. Though it is very important for a person to save for his future and the children to care for their aged parents, I strongly feel that government should also be extending hands for the welfare of the elderly people.

According to the traditional approach, all the savings of the parents are being spent for the education, wedding and for setting up a better lifestyle for their kids. Parents miss to think or prepare themselves for their retirement. Some are very careless and act as spendthrifts who enjoy the present and do not save for the future.

There are other factors which insist the support from government. In this economical world, everyone are in need of money. Not all children are in a position to bear the financial needs of their parents. Since in a due course of time, they get into a family cycle and get stuck amidst of various problems. There are also chances for rise of misunderstanding between parents and children which becomes a barrier for interaction.Also because of the generation gap, attitudes differ between them.

Government should be setting some arrangements for the elderly like Old-age homes, medical centers/campaigns, Special care units for the elderly who suffers from non-curable diseases, etc., For the elderly who have lost their children or living apart from their children can be provided with financial benefits. Special assistance came be provided for the people aged above 80 & for the differently abled for transport, medical insurance etc.,

In a nutshell, apart from insisting oneself to plan for their retirement, it is also the responsibility of the government to care for the senior members of the nation.