ielts writing task 2 Should the Government tax fast food heavily

Fast Food taxation

Over recent years, no issue has drawn as much attention as the debate surrounding Fast Food taxes. Some people hold a point of view that imposing an excise taxes on this type of food could contribute to curb the rising rate of diseases. However, to my best knowledge, this solution does not bring realistic effect as much as it's initially expected.

On the one hand, it is argued by some that the heavily governmental taxation on junk food would be associated with a noticeable reduction the excessive consumption. The crucial reason here, with such raising tariffs that the giant food corporation would shift the tax burden on consumers by raising the price, thereby putting purchasers' choice of junk food into consideration and ameliorating public health. For example, Hungary has succeeded with its tax assessment which was implemented in 2011, after 4 years, more than 59 percent of consumers had lowered their consumption of offending fast food products, according to a study conducted by the World Health Organization (WHO). As a result, the government has more of a source of income generation in order to add funding for issues of immediate concerns such as medical complaints, education...

On the other hand, a heavy price could be paid if the government raise the FF tax. Firstly, imposing a high excise on fast food is likely not to remarkably implicate on the eating choices of affluent consumers, even places a financial burden on the low-income, on whom are mainly relying because of owing to its affordability. That means disadvantaged people have insufficient funds to satisfy their hunger and cut back for some basic needs like education and accommodation. consequently, a harder life could be perceived.

In conclusion, the advantages of fast food are deniable. However, all of the countries over the world need a more practical methodology to protect public health in the current era of business-friendly government policy.