IELTS2 - governments, companies and people have equal responsibilities for combating global warming

Global warming responsibilities

Climate change represents a major threat to countries around the world, and some people argue that people should be responsible for coping this problem instead of companies and the authorities, and I'm completely disagree with this viewpoint. I believe that both corporations and governments have equal responsibility.

Governments indeed need to take responsibility for the impact on climate change as they have the most power to change things. People and companies would not change their practice until the authorities introduce stricter laws or offer incentives to change their behaviors. For example, governments could introduce green taxes on drivers or companies and impose heavy fines for those who fail to adhere to these laws. Furthermore, the authorities could also invest money in the development of renewable energy, such as solar, wind or water power.

Corporations also have responsibilities for combat climate change. Firstly, companies could build up the collaboration with governments in inventing green energy from natural sources by gathering groups of outstanding scientists around the world. Moreover, manufactures could reduce the pace of climate change by implanting circular economy. Circular economy features that companies retain the responsibilities for the products instead of customers, which means companies are responsible for dealing with the products that reach the end of lifecycle. Manufactures could repair the broken parts of an item and reuse them to assemble another products.

Individuals certainly have the responsibility of dealing with global warming for some degree. The public could affect the acts of governments by voting for politicians who propose to combat climate change, rather than for those who would prefer to ignore it. In addition, people could limit their contribution to climate change by becoming more energy-efficient, by taking public transportation or bicycles, and they could boycott the products that have much packaging or companies known for pollute.

In conclusion, climate change is a pressing global issue, and I believe governments, companies and people have equal responsibilities for combating global warming.