Governments should control the amount of violence in the media. To what extent do you agree or not

violence and crimes in the media

Controversy arises when governments manage violent information in mass media such as news, televisions and online videos. In my view, I believe that it is not the only responsibility for governments to combat the overwhelmingly violent content in media.

Admittedly, being frequently exposed to media violence is the culprit of some juvenile delinquencies and therefore it should be limited by governments. Young people, as one of the most vulnerable groups, who cannot access proper school and parental education are not mature enough to control themselves, and this contributes to that they imitate violent behaviors on televisions and other media. Consequently, they are more likely to commit crimes such as robbery, burglar and even murder. In addition, excessive content of violence in public media arouses people's agressiveness, which makes them become desensitized to violent situations, it is very much possible that people view violence as commonplace and utilize it as an approach to deal conflicts in real world if movies and television programs are filled with violent scenes without any governments' restrictions.

However, only with government intervention, it is not adequate to address the adverse effects brought about by the violence in media. It is a fact that those who are able to differentiate the virtual situations in video games and on televisions form reality still conduct some anti-social behaviors. This indicates that crimes have little to do with exposure to violence. Meanwhile, those violent elements acting as catalysts make the films instead of at the expense of the creation of social problems like crimes.

In conclusion, the amount of violence in the media should be restricted by the government because it is linked to crimes and social issues and hopefully these can be mitigated through the cooperation with the education of young adults and the improvement of media organisations' ethics.