IELTS: governments should pay for the public service or arts?

Some people say that governments should pay for the public service, while others say it is not the government's responsibility and they should pay for the arts.

Please discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With the economic growth and technological development, people have transferred their attention to the living standard and healthy lifestyles, and there is a controversy over whether it is authority's responsibility to allocate funds on public infrastructure. This essay will discuss both points of views.

Those who claim that states are not charge of public service, and they should pay more on arts. It is certainly true that arts stand for a country's culture and history, but today under enormous stress,most individuals only concentrate on works, business and studies, resulting to the lack of appreciation of arts ,humanities and national spirits. So, the government should build more art

places to raise the awareness of culture and history which is extremely educational and valuable to today society.

Nevertheless, there is no doubt that as taxpayers, who paid a large amount of tax to country, have rights to enjoy the public service that paid by governments. At present, in order to achieve the high quality life quickly in competitive global environment, the states spend too much money on economic development but ignoring the raise of living standard. If these public services can meet people's needs and help them solve problems, they may provide the maximum production to society, thereby, stimulating the modern development. What's more, most lands have been used for commercial manufacture to make profit, if governments can put emphasis on public service and build more facilities or organizations to solves these problems, the living standard can be increased in a more effective and efficient way.

To sum up, having analyzed and stated the two points above, I would say that the public service and arts are completely contradictory existence, but an interactive relationship that both bring convenience to citizens. What the government should do is know how to allocate the funds reasonably and how to make the maximum effects.