Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and develop

Governments should place few, if any, restrictions on scientific research and development.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

Scientific research and development help contribute to nations development and to help man kind. But several researches in the past have proved devastating. I agree with the authors statement that government should place restriction on research and development. Restriction should be laid upon researchs which have deleterious effect on nature and human.

In the early 17th and 18th century, several diseases would go undetected and without cure. People during that era thought diseases were a curse or its punishment from god. Black plaque in England during the 16th century exemplifies how disease would result into many people dieing. But nowadays plaques have practically vanished not to say that viral infections like H1N1 still exists. If it wasn't for the research scholar, these plagues would have killed thousand more men.

During the 1940, scientists started experimenting on nuclear science which had tremendous power. This nuclear power can be used in generating electricity with really high efficiency but rather it became a power weapon. Hiroshima and Nagasaki attack is an example of the devastating effects of some researchs. The recent chemical posion attack by Syrian government on its own people is yet another example how some scientific research can be harmful. Government, therefore must keep in check the researchs of these kind and put restriction on them.

Research and development should be carried out with mankind in mind. Government should restrict researches on mass destruction. Research in medicine, renewable energy sources and like-wise should always be encouraged by government.