Governments should plan more budget for railways development rather than roads system

Governments should spend money on railways rather than roads.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

both railways and roads are significant

Some people believe that governments should plan more budget for railways development rather than roads. In my opinion, I agree that railways are significant to countries. While the other people consider that road system is important.

There are some reasons why I think governments should improve railways. First, the quantity of private car increase rapidly in recent years. If most of people take the public transportation, vehicle emission will be cut down because driving amounts reduces. Secondly, taking a train can avoid the traffic jam. People may get a bad feeling owing to block in a long line of traffic in rush hours. The railways can transform huge amounts of people during rush hours, therefore people can save the waiting time in traffic jam. In addition, many serious traffic accidents occurred because of careless driving. Taking a train can avoid those events happen. Thirdly, the cost by taking a train is cheaper than driving a car. People can use the saved money to do other things.

However, road system also plays an essential role to a country's progress. On the one hand, unlike railways, roads can be built on a grate scale, creating a flexible traffic network. People can go more places by the road system. On the other hand, we have to plan our itinerary by the railway timetable if we take a train. By driving, we can easy to go anywhere whenever we want. The road system provides a more convenience traffic option to people.

In conclusion, governments should construct both railways and roads, those are significant advances to countries.