IELTS WRITING TASK 2: Are governments responsible for environmental preservation?

ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION TOPIC

Environmental protection is the responsibility of politicians, not individuals as individuals can do too little. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Given the alarming deterioration in the ecosystem, many individuals argue that governments are responsible for environmental preservation. While it is important for parliaments to take the initiative, I strongly believe that people's role in tackling these issues is indispensable due to their significant impacts on nature.

On the one hand, it is undeniable that it is the responsibility of politicians to tighten regulations on environmental problems and take the initiative in this journey. Since they are given the power to make changes to the law, any of their actions would have significant impacts on the behaviors of citizens which directly affect the surrounding environment. For instance, if the Ministry of Environment applied strictly financial punishment on people who cut down trees illegally, they would be afraid and stop their crime. Furthermore, as politicians are considered role models for residents, them taking the initiative would raise awareness among the vast majority of people about the necessity of natural preservation. This can be seen in many Vietnamese new schools, when the city council sent a tree to these schools as a gift, it has started to influence students to grow more plants on their campus. Such small actions, as a result, might lead to considerable improvements in the environment in the future.

On the other hand, an individual's role in solving this issue is part and parcel given their huge impacts on nature. This could be explained by the fact that apart from politicians, the rest of us make up nearly 100% of the world population. Consequently, even an insignificant action like littering a plastic bag, combined with tons of other bags being thrown away around the globe can devastate the entire ecosystem. In fact, the deterioration in the environment these days is also the aftermath of irresponsible exploitation and usage of natural resources as well as inhumane wars happening for centuries just for the convenience of humans' lives. As a result, only unity and precise awareness among every individual worldwide can resolve these natural issues.

Based on the aforementioned points, while politicians can partly tackle the problems by tightening environmental regulations, it is mainly individuals' actions that have huge impacts on nature. I am also convinced that as soon as people are fully aware of their roles and willing to take serious steps, the environment would be improved.