GRE-Should governments solve the immediate or the anticipated problems?

hi! everyone!

Nice to see you! Thank you for your valuable suggestions!

Present your prespective on the issue below. Please

-consider the complexities and implications of the issue

-organize, develop, and express your ideas on the issue

-support your ideas with relevant reasons and examples

-control the elements of standard written English

TOPIC: "Governments should focus more on solving the immediate problems of today rather than trying to solve the anticipated problems of the future."

Response

I fundamentally agree with the speaker's claim that governments should focus on solving the immediate problems of today. However, considering the complexity of the problems that governments will be faced with, I think governments in different levels have different tasks and goals to solve those problems.

First, governments in city or state level should focus more on solving the immediate problems. I think the main responsibilities of these governments are to ensure every citizen has a better daily life. Local governments are more closed to the common people and deal with a mount of regular and common affairs every day. For example, if one factory gets fired in the city, the local government should organize the local staffs to put out the fire immediately and evacuate the masses nearby in order to reduce the loss of the citizens to the fullest extent. For governments in this level, solving the immediate problem seems more important.

Second, governments of different countries should solve the immediate problems of today as well as the anticipated problems of the future at the same time. For example, some pressing affairs such as natural disaster is the immediate problem that should be solved by the government. Besides that, a country government should focus on solving the anticipated problems of the future. For example, governments should pay fund on new technologies which will benefit the society in the future. For governments in nation level, solving the immediate problems is the same important as the anticipated problems. Furthermore, the UN, known as the government of the world, seems solve the anticipated problems more often than the immediate problems. Such problems include the Global Warming and the living conditions of the communities etc.

However, there are many problems for governments are neither immediate problems nor anticipated problems. Such as the problem of education and the problem of unemployment, such problems are long-term problems that governments should focus on solving them all the time.

To sum up, the responsibilities for governments are to advance the society. The various problems we are faced with are so complicated that governments in different levels should join hands together to solve those problems moment by moment .