Governments spend a lot money on improving Internet access. Why? Is it the most appropriate use?

Topic: In many countries, governments spend a large amount of money on improving Internet access. Why is it happening and do you think it is the most appropriate use of government money?

It is true that governments in various countries invest heavily in their Internet networks. There is a variety of reasons for this investment and I am of the opinion that it is not the most optimal use of governments' budgets.

To begin with, governments of many nations aim to enhance the Internet access for a number of reasons. Firstly, as the Internet provides a tremendous amount of information, citizens could gain more knowledge and widen their horizons. Online courses, for instance, enable Internet users to gain degrees in different fields. Another significant benefit of improving the Internet access is that it aids governments to promote their activities more widely. It can be seen that a piece of news could possibly go viral once it is uploaded on the Internet, especially on the social media. Governments could utilize this technique to make their campaigns such as breast cancer prevention widely recognised.

Despite the above advantages of the Internet has to offer, I am strongly convinced that the investment in Internet access is not the most optimal use. In fact, there are many other key sectors that urgently need governments' subsidies. Healthcare system, for example, should be enhanced since they have enormous impact on citizens' health. Another key sector that requires governments' considerable investment is the national security system. If their security systems are strong, governments could guarantee a more secured life to every citizen. For these reasons, governments should allocate their budget for the key sectors that aims to solve the most critical issues within their nations.

In conclusion, governments of many nations across the globe are currently investing in enhancing the Internet access. However, I believe that this expenditure is not the most optimal use of governments' budgets.