Govt is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be spent elsewhere

financial support for art controversy

It is argued commonly that Government's financial support for art is merely wastage financial resources of a country and that money should be invested somewhere else instead. I completely disagree with this argument and I think art is a gateway to preserve a culture and heritage. In this essay I would be discussing why art should be financed by government to great extent.

Firstly, art is a great way to express someone's opinion or imagination regarding a perspective or issue. Artist often reflect society's culture, heritage and traditions in their artistic works and projects. Hence, It will pass the legacy of a society to their coming generations. In addition art also educate us about our ancestors thoughts and mental approach. For example, from Moeen Jo Daro

(oldest civilization of Sindh Pakistan) remains we can easily figure out that this civilization was fully civilized with most developed infrastructure of the city and dancing girl sculpture with humongous bangles in her arm point out that girls dance was a social norm in our ancestors. Hence, our government should definitely invest in art and facilitate this field and its works to keep our legacy alive for thousands of centuries to come.

Secondly, art is source of immense entertainment for the people who admire it. Nowadays, almost everyone is involved in artistic work or buys art. For instance, peoples tend to buy movie tickets, paintings, sculpture, novels and etcetera, these all are great examples of art and source of entertainment from children to elderly people. Hence these reasons are very convincing why this great field should be financed by Government sectors.

To conclude, in my opinion Government should invest in art field to keep a trace to our culture for upcoming generations.