The great advertising affects people's willing of purchasing - Ielts work

Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real need of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

consumers and the advertising

It is true that great advertising might affect people's willing of purchasing. However, I do not agree that the public will buy useless products simply because they saw the fantastic advertisements.

On the one hand, advertising is a good chance to deliver the concept and the content of a product to its potential consumers. It provides opportunities for the audiences to have a better understanding of a product and to be able to visualize the experiences of using without taking a look at the shops even they have never use it before. This could save consumer's time and money to try different products therefore some people do purchase the goods after seeing the advertisements on TV, on the roads or in the newspaper.

On the other hand, people are unlikely to buy every product they saw on interesting advertisements because of the limited budget. It is true that a few people might impulsive buying things after seeing the advertisements, yet most of people are rational. Advertisements may only enlarge their list of shopping, but could not alter the decision to buy practical goods. Another reason why advertising plays an unimportant role in consumers' shopping behavior is that most of people simply regard advertisements as the entertainments when they are waiting for buses or TV programs.

In conclusion, advertising might has the chance to increase the possibility of purchasing behavior, yet the rational consumers would still regard the real needs as the most important thing when buying the products.