IELTS Task 2: The Greatest Challenge for Parents Who Had a lot of Children

In many parts of the world, families were larger in the past because people had more children. Do you think there were more advantages or disadvantages to being part of a large family in the past?

In the past, there were several people to live with many members in home, so they had lots of children and big families. They felt comfortable even had to share everything with the members and took more advantages than possessed in a small family.

The greatest challenge for parents who had a lot of children was money. They tried hard to earn big incomes, so they could fulfill daily necessities of all the relatives. After their children in school ages, they had to spend more dollars to send them to qualified schools as education would very important for young generations in the future. Parents also needed money to build their houses larger to accommodate relatives, extended the rooms for them, and bought some stuffs. Moreover, parents had to pay more attention which was shared to their children. They might be difficult to managing their tasks of works and listening stories of their children.

However, I argue having bigger families give more benefits for people. Firstly, Children would learn about responsibilities when there were some activities in home because members could divide it. This character would bring them to be more mature. Owning large families also upgraded intelligence of individuals. For example, when they discussed some issues, they would give knowledge or views one and another. Finally, when children had grown up, parents would not feel lonely because the members would be more and bigger. Furthermore, the children could collaborate to work together.

To sum up, big family would give some problems money and attention in particular. On the other hand, I believe the advantages outweighed the drawback because it created stronger relationship, supported and helped each other when they got the problems.