Greenhouse Effect;GSPIA ESSAY- International problem

Provide a brief analysis of what you consider a national or international problem today.

(character limit is 5000) Any suggestions PLS!!

Greenhouse Effect Paper

As climate change and greenhouse effect intensify, carbon emission reduction has become the focus of international world. According to the prediction of Intergovernmental Panel on Climate Change (IPCC), CO2 emissions come from human activities will increase from 271Ă-108t/a in 1997 to 950Ă-108t /a in 2100, and the volume fraction of CO2 in the atmosphere will also increase from the current 360Ă-10-6 to 720Ă-10-6 in 2050. In 2007, China surpassed the US as the world's largest greenhouse gas emissions country. in November 2009. And then in November 2009, Chinese leaders showed the determination to save energy, cut costs and curb climate change: China will cut the carbon emissions per unit of GDP by 40~45% of 2005 levels by 2020. Hence China is now under enormous pressure in the work of carbon emission reduction. However, China is in the stage of rapid industrial development, and has a strong demand in energy has strong demand, thus is necessary for us to analyze China's energy structure to find useful resolutions.

China's energy situation is summarized as "rich coal, lean oil, less gas," which indicates that the coal industry is the most important part of the nation's industrialization, and China's coal-based energy structure may stay remain unchanged in the future for a very long time in the future. So the coal industry will no doubt shoulder the main task to reduce the carbon emission. Information from the coal consumption has showed that the top five carbon makers (in proportion) are: Electricity and heat production and supply, Black metal processing industry, Oil and nuclear fuel processing, Non-metallic mineral manufacturing and Coal mining and washing industry. Especially, as the development of economy, the percentage of the CO2 emission volume from coal-fired power, coal chemical industry the electric power and the coal chemical industry will continue to rise. Thus more attention need to pay to the carbon reduction of those sectors.

In order to reduce the carbon emission, we need to adhere to the actively advocate the international new reducing technology. At present, China's coal industry has promote this career by exploiting mine gases, recycling ventilation air methane (VAM), and develop technology like carbon capture and storage (CCS).

Here, I am interested in CCS particularly. Firstly we separate and purify CO2 from Coal-fired power plants, and then we transport the carbon to the burial site and store it. When the relative market is generated and formed, we may even sell the carbon. So in this way not only people can realize the goal of carbon emission reduction, they can also create new industrial chain, which is a win-win situation.

The issue of climate change derives from the excessive emissions of the greenhouse gases, and the traditional fossil energy is the biggest source of those gas emissions. Coal is China's Basic-resource supports the country's social and economic development and China's coal-based energy structure may last long, therefore whether the coal industry can effectively implement the carbon emission reduction is of great significance for completing the overall carbon emission reduction index. I'm optimistic about this.