The growing number of high school leavers choose to obtain their bachelor degree in a foreign school

IELTS WRITING TASK 2 - STUDY OVERSEAS

In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study abroad. What are the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Please help me with my essay and advice me a possible score. Thank you so much!

There is a noticeable trend these days that a growing number of high school leavers choose to obtain their bachelor degree in a foreign university instead of in their home country. While this development brings about various benefits, there are also drawbacks that need to be considered.

On the one hand, studying abroad is evidently advantageous for students for several reasons. Firstly, living in a different country is one of the most efficient ways to master many vital life skills. For example, when living abroad, students will have to learn how to cook, manage their bills, take care of themselves when being sick, which will gradually build up the independence. All of these skills may hardly be obtained if students still rely on the support of their parents in daily basis. Secondly, studying overseas can also offer students a great chance to make new friends from various backgrounds and cultures, which will provide them a better understanding and appreciation for other nations' people and history.

Nevertheless, there are a certain number of disadvantages of study abroad. The most obvious one is that students are more likely to feel homesick and lonely, even experience culture shock. As a result, these individuals might find it difficult to concentrate on their studies and adapt in the new place, or even suffer some mental problems, which will lead to poor academic performance at school. Furthermore, living abroad undoubtedly costs a great deal of money, which can result in financial burdens on students' parents and themselves as well. In addition, for those who decide to take part-time job in order to alleviate financial problems can become less engaged in school, which can lower their grades in the end.

In conclusion, although study overseas can offer students numerous advantages over studying domestically, there are also a range of inevitable disadvantages that would be better to be well-prepared ahead.