Growing numbers of people tend to buy things in supermarkets rather than at small, local stores.

Nowadays, more people prefer to shop in supermarkets rather than in small shops and local markets. Why do you think this is? Is it a positive or negative development?

It is true that people in growing numbers tend to buy things in supermarkets rather than small stores and local markets. There are a variety of reasons for this trend, and I believe it has both benefits and drawbacks.

Supermarkets are gaining increasing popularity for various reasons. Perhaps the most important one is that they provide customers with a wider variety of products at lower prices. This is because supermarkets normally purchase items in bulk from suppliers, which means they are likely to enjoy discounts to a large extent. In other words, supermarkets can afford to lower the prices of their products to attract consumers. Besides, with strict regulations and effective management, supermarkets are able to keep their products fresher than those sold in small stores and local markets, which sometimes sell products that exceed shelf life. Also, supermarkets usually have large parking lots available to attract car owners, who normally have more buying power. Without these facilities, small stores and local markets pale in comparison with supermarkets.

Apart from facilitating citizens by providing them with better products and services, supermarkets also bring some drawbacks with citizens' preference for supermarket shopping. First of all, with more people going to supermarkets, small stores and local markets would be driven out of businesses, which would lead to unemployment. Besides, small stores and markets are usually located near residential areas. If they disappeared, residents would have to drive long distances to find a supermarket, rather than going to a local convenience store within walking distance. This can significantly bring people inconvenience, which is particularly true for elderly people or those who cannot drive or ride.

To sum up, there are a host of reasons for people's preference for shopping in supermarkets, and I firmly believe this trend has both positive and negative effects.