Handwriting errors, undermined writing skills - these are effects of using computers and smartphones

IELTS-TASK 2 the influence of new technology on writing and reading skill

utilizing new technology such as smart phones and computers has significantly enhanced writing and reading skills. Consequently, a massive number of individuals who use this device have obtained high promotion in their works or high score at their exams. Yet, there is a question as to whether using computer or cellular phone has a contributing factor to the development of writing and reading skills or not. While there are certainly valid arguments to the contrary, I personally believe that utilizing modern device such as computers and smart phones has a prominent role in improving writing and reading skills.

There are a number of proofs that substantiate using computer and smarts phone improve writing and reading skills. First, Search engines such as Google or Yahoo assist individuals to discover various sources of data on the internet quickly. Thus, they increase reading skills among individuals and provide them with curiosity to discover more references and facilitate access to variety of reading materials. Further evidence can be seen in computer programs such as word processor or Microsoft word. These programs are used to contract the length of writing without errors. Many individuals use this program to write novels or books in a short duration of time. However, in the past, they used to write novels or books by hand after that they rewrote them on Typewriter to print them. As a consequence, it took a long period of time and boost disappointment among them. Currently, using these programs can encourage individuals to write more piece of writing and promote writing skills among them.

However, although utilizing modern technology such as computer and cellular phones are more likely to increase reading and writing skills among individuals, adverse effects can be intensely present. Handwriting errors can be prevalent among individuals, relied on programs on computers or smart phones. Excessive dependence on modern devices in writing can undermine writing skills. Moreover, individuals, based largely on modern devices, do not have the ability to write a letter by their hand. As result, handwriting might be in extreme danger of extinction. Furthermore, absence of this device, it can trigger embarrassment among writer because they do not have the ability to write by their hand.

In conclusion, despite the fact that a new technology such as smart phone and computer has negative impact, it has dramatically evolved the methodology of writing and reading in a contemporary era.