IELTS - Happiness is one of the most vital factors for a worth-living life

Happiness is considered very important in life.

Why is it difficult to define?

What factors are important in achieving happiness?

It is true that happiness is one of the most vital factors for a worth-living life. Although many people including some of the most well-known inviduals have tried to find the definition of happiness, the term still does not have the exact meaning. The essay will explore the reasons why meaning of happiness is hard to clarify as well as factors needed to lead a happy life.

The term "happiness" is hard to clarify because it means something different to each individual. Each person has his or her own experience that no one else can fully understand, and each of us also gains happiness from different sources of pleasure. For example, some people link wealth and economic success with happiness, others feel happy simply when they acknowledge that their beloved ones live happily. At the same time, a range of feelings from excitement to peacefulness are also associated with happiness. Therefore, the same person may feel happy in a variety of different ways.

To me, the most important factor for one to gain happiness is the sense of satisfaction. Because the feeling of happiness arises when people acknowlegde that they have achieved something valuable such as good health to enjoy life, success in career or simply travelling to a wonderful place. Therefore, if a person is not satisfied with what he or she has got, the sense of achievement, which leads to happiness, can never occur. Some people may claim that satisfaction with what one has got can kill the motivation of pursuing new goals, which will certainly hinders one from self-development; however, I would argue that satisfaction does not contradict with the motivation to try for more, once a person has got the feeling of achievement, the delight of achieving something will surely a useful force to keep one trying for new goals.

To conclude, happiness is an ambigous term because its meaning varies for different people , and satisfaction is a key to lead a delightful life.