Toefl: Being happy with a job is more important than having a high salary

If a company assures their employees with great quality of working conditions such as a workplace, business welfare, and salary, we may evaluate it as an optimal work position. However, because most companies provide limited supplies, most people should deal with the confliction between the ideal pay condition and their own dream jobs. Therefore, it is quite controversial whether being happy with a job is more important than having a high salary. As far as I am concerned, I firmly believe that without satisfaction for the payment, people cannot enjoy their lives. There are main two reason why I think so: An appropriate amount of wage is a justified compensation of one`s labor, and the majority of people need extra money not only for themselves but also for their family.

First of all, if people cannot earn the reasonable amount of money, then they will easily feel dissatisfaction, even if they belong to their desired companies. According to the recent news article, the majority of workers suffer from the gap between their expectation and actual amount of salary. Especially, in the news article, the author explains a case of some researchers who work at a venture business. According to the article, while the researchers invented some advanced type of antibiotics, because the patent of the new molecules are taken by the company, they only received a less incentives from the company, and their discontent spurred to dispute between the authority and the labor union. With this case, we can think that the salary means not only the money from the company but also it means workers` right in return for one`s endeavor.

Secondly, the one of the main reasons why people want high salary is that they need an adequate amount of money to support their old parents or young children. It does not take a genius to think that the current price level is too rapidly increasing to handle it. From the basic living necessary to educational expenses, the cost of every fundamental element for living keeps increasing. Thus, except a certain rich class, it is the monthly repeated concern for ordinary people that how much they earn and how to use it. Briefly, in this unstable economic state, people`s tendency to pursue the high-waged job is an inevitable phenomenon.

In conclusion, admittedly, if the company abundantly offers the salary to their employee, every worker can work with their satisfaction. Unfortunately, however, if a person were in the situation to select a job based on between his or her work preference and the high salary, it is quite difficult for him to ignore the money condition if he considers the above aspects what I explained.