The hard copy version of newspapers & magazines has been in great threat toward the printed version

2019-02-28: Task 2

Questions: Some people believe in the era of e-technology, printing newspaper and magazines will cease to occur in the near future. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The printed version would be the Museum's collection soon

The hard copy version of newspapers and magazines has been in great threat owing to the evolving electronic technologies. This threat, believed by a section of the society, would bring an end to the printed version of these reading materials. From my point of view, I am an ardent advocate of this statement that e-technology or soft copy of news and information would engulf printed copy.

A good reason of paper copy dying out would be the flexibility of electronic copy. At present, not only do publishers of news and articles collect information from sources swiftly but they also update this information timely. This means, electronic technologies, such as smartphones, Internet, and internet of things, are being used in order to disseminate information from journalists to ultimate readers; and editors are updating the news, where needed, with efficiency. In contrast, Printed copies are not editable hence misinformation in news could not be corrected.

Another convincing reason for terminating printout of newspapers and magazines might be the user-friendly attribute of e-technologies. In other words, readers can access any news from any smart devices that have internet access. For instance, People, who are busy, can swipe their mobile phones for news or information from any places around the world without bothering the printed version of newspapers and magazines. What is more, readers can share any news with their friends and family via social network sites whereas this feature is unthinkable in the printed version.

To conclude, it is indubitable that printing newspapers and magazines would be discontinued in upcoming years on account of the adaptable and exclusive application of electronic technologies. The printed version would be the Museum's collection after a decade.

Date: 08.3.2019

Is this essay worth Band 7?