Harder to study at school.

new challenges of studying

Topic: Many students find it is harder to study at university or college compared to when they were in grade school.

Why is this?

What are some possible solutions for this problem?

Many university students find it increasingly challenging to pay attention during lessons compared to past schooling. In my view, this issue is mainly attributed to the considerable changes in curriculum, and I believe that some solutions can be carefully considered to tackle with it.

The main cause of this trouble relates to the new learning environment at university. It is clear that the number of students at college is far larger than that in high schools, which then makes teachers find it hard to contact with students or even have a minimum guarantee that all of them can get a little bit the given knowledge. Another factor that leads to a lack of concentration at university is the significant difference of information between universities and former schools. With a large amount of academic knowledge proposed, it seems rather difficult for university students to get what is taught, particularly for those who have a part-time job to pay for tutor fees and living cost.

Despite its negative effects, the issue can be solved by some measures. Firstly, colleges should have an adjustment to novel ways of learning. They can all restrict the knowledge in each lesson, this may include further lessons during summer holiday, to make students feel easy and have time to review from the previous. Secondly, pupils can also study on the Internet, in which information is widely available, and ask teachers or their peers if anything is not understood. In this way, they both save time and efforts and completely absorb the lessons at school.

In conclusion, while it is considerably burdensome for students to concentrate on their new academic life, some measures can be taken to solve this difficult problem. The new environment will always be an obstacle and part of the importance of university is learning independently to overcome it.