Health budget should allocate more funds for medical technology or health education?

Most developed countries spend a large proportion of their health budgets on expensive medical technology and procedures. This money should be spend instead on health education to keep people well.

To what exent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Answer:

With an increasing prevalence of serious diseases such as cancers, many developed countries has invested large amount of money in medical technology and prodcedures. However, opponents claim against that that money can help the governments to educate people for healthy life. In my opinion, living with healthy behaviors is very important and should be settled as a priority.

Firstly, there are many chronic diseases that result from lifestyle factors and people can prevent those diseases by changing the ways of living. Instead of devoting budget to producing medicine, the government can invest in projects or programmes to educate people how to live healthy and avoid risk factors of diseases. If people had been aware of the causes, they might have prevented the diseases before they happen. Hence, it can also save much of money for treatment.

Secondly, health education may stop the broad transmission of infectious diseases. For example, although spending much effort and money on researching for medicine to cure AIDS, the diseases seem to keep rising. However, it is known that people can be educated to protect themselves from the HIV virus, thereby not getting AIDS. This education is currently much more effective than any medicine which has been invented so far. Thus, raising the awareness among people of health can also decrease the prevalence of diseases.

Finally, new medical technology and procedures always need to be developed. However, the budget is limited and has to be used effeciently. Health education is the shortest way to a healthier life.