Health safety and budget - how important to the society - Ielts test

Prevention is better that cure.

Out of country's health budget, a larger proportion should be diverted from treatment to spending on health education and preventative measures.

To what extent, do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Since ages, health safety has always been a key concern for society. No doubt, huge amount of money is spent on health care to improve health standards, yet there is no substitute of health education and prevention. Needless to say that preventative measures can do miracle for ensuring good public health, if applied in a genuine and systematic manner and I am too, highly convinced with this idea.

The medical science, today, has made possible the cure to many fatal diseases like diabetes, cardiac problems, physical disorders, just to name a few. However, diagnosis and treatment required is a very expensive process, which is at far beyond the reach of common people. But a shift of government financial assistance towards bringing knowledge and preventative measures, can act a boon for public health and society itself.

An adequate awareness regarding causes and symptoms of illness, can help reduce the further risks involved. For instance the case of AIDS and Cancer. In practical terms, awareness campaigns including seminars and camps should be organizes at grass root level like in schools and other public places. In addition proper safety and protection aids should be made easily available. Regular free check-ups can reveal diseases in at early stages, thus, making treatment easy. Knowledge about balanced diets and keeping the surroundings clean can further play an effective role.

This idea of funds shift offers many genuinely positive outcomes. Primarily, extreme costs for hi-tech treatments will be reduced, relieving extra financial burden on families. Secondarily, overall health status will improve, bringing in more prosperity. Apart from this, money saved can be spent on other social welfare causes.

Eventually, health education and prevention is the best way to keep our society healthy, though a keen attention is required for actual implementation and balancing of these resources for public interest.