'heat-debated topic'; Everyone has the right to get university education?

Some people believe everyone has the right to get university education. To what extent do you agree government should make it free to all people no matter of their financial background?

Due to the rapid pace of development of technology and economy, receiving tertiary education in universities has become a tendency these days. Whether or not should government support free access of university education to everyone is a heat-debated topic. While I tend to advocate free university education, some other factors like student marks and economic strength, I believe, should be taken into consideration whilst implementing this act.

Free access to university education allows people to acquire better knowledge and skills, which can act as a precursor to career success and valuable contribution to the society. For example, economy specialists are able to identify economic factors that influence large- and medium-size investments. Investors therefore change their strategies to avoid economic and financial risks before any loss happen. Only through capitalising on the expertise of various specialists, can the society make progression stably and rapidly. What is more important is that career achievements bring about job satisfaction, thereby leading to higher motivation and further contribution.

It is, however, not necessarily easy for government to completely financially support tertiary education as taxpayers may expect other ways where their money being used. For instance, many believe that health care and other infrastructure programs should be enhanced instead of education. A sense of happiness and higher quality of life could be achieved through fortifying those services and amenities. Despite of many benefits brought from other sectors where government apply tax revenue in, I would argue that free education should be prioritised due to its long-term positive effects, as education is the foundation of a nation. However, high school performance and financial strength of the government should be considered for the fairness and feasibility of this course of action.

To conclude, a well-developed education system normally positively correlates with the wealth of a nation as it opens up avenues for future opportunities in each sector. Free university education therefore needs to be applied to each person, thus generating intellectual societies to deal with the perspective future.