Help to only our own community or nation, as it is not possible to help each and every one?

Prompt:-

We cannot help everyone in the world that needs help, so we should only be concerned with our own communities and countries.

To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

It is often believed by some that helping others should be restricted to one's own community or nation, as it is not possible to help each and every one. I completely disagree with this notion and I believe efforts should be made, to provide help to as many as possible.

On the one hand, I agree we always find people, around us, who are in need of help. Assisting them and providing help to them in any form would mean a world to them. These days, even the wealthiest nation have homeless people and any charity or volunteer work would benefit them a lot. For example, people in many countries donate their old clothes and other belongings to various homeless people or even to certain non-profit organizations. As the problems persist locally, I can understand why some people give more priority to local charity.

At the same time, I believe we shouldn't limit ourselves to the national borders. Today the world consists of many rich and poor nations and the richer nations should take a step forward by helping the impoverished lot. For example during various natural calamities, poorer nations could benefit a lot from the aid or help received by the richer nations. This would not only help them to recover, but will also help them in getting back to their feet.

In conclusion, the whole human race, first are citizens of planet Earth and then of any country. Thus, helping someone in need, shouldn't be differentiated on the basis of international borders.