I helped Tony - this event marked my transition to the adulthood

Often times I wonder to myself why am I who I am today? Why couldn't I be Allen , Michael or anyone else? As strange as it may seem, it gave me the obsession to naturally imagine things in other people's perspectives; to live their lives for a moment. It naturally became a habit; a habit that soon became woven into every action I do and every word I say.

That said, the meaning of adulthood could be vastly diverse but ultimately it holds the connotation and symbol of maturity. It is people such as your parents, teachers or coaches who are usually associated with being true adults and It isn't just because your parents gave birth to you, or that your teachers hold a PhD degree that makes them adults in your mind but rather the mutual aspect of care, love and most importantly that strange habit of mine that they all hold.

Stepping out of the train and taking my first breath of TaiDong air for my first time ever, it was rather different from the city air I inhaled for the last 16 years. I was there to teach the less fortunate aborigine kids of Taiwan basic level English and western culture.

Teaching class was relatively fun, to witness the kids struggle to pronounce the word "paleontologist" or to watch them scream and yell over a simple English game, puts a smile on my face. Kids were coming up to me to ask about English words or asking me for permission to do things; at that moment I already felt a sense of adulthood as kids were looking up to me for directions. Though there was still a void in me that couldn't be fulfilled.

There was one kid by the name of Tony that frankly I will never forget. He had dyslexia, a cleft lip, a single mother and financially his family was very unstable yet he wore a smile every day to class eager to participate, sometimes even too eager that we had to calm him down.

This bright jubilant kid however was bullied by other students in the camp quite harshly. Out of nowhere during the middle of class he bursted into tears. I pulled him out and spent the rest of that day accompanying him. He told me he felt worthless and that other kids would lock him outside the room and yell "retard". It was so heart breaking to see such an optimistic kid lose all sense of self-respect because of some meaningless words said by other immature kids.

I felt it, I felt his sorrow and pain that both him and I know very well he doesn't deserve. It was my "habit" that allowed me to give him some advice that only a real adult could give. I remember so vividly his tears stopping, his frown flipping back to his smile, a hug that I would never forget and that void I was talking about, I solved it.

It was after my encounter with Tony that I've realized how much I've matured. I began to recall some memories when I was similarly in Tony's position; sad and dejected. The moment as a child you yearn for the comfort from an adult and their words of wisdom. This time I was the adult and Tony was the child. It made me realize that the reason I have so much respect to my parents, teachers and coaches is because they understand you and therefore their words are so powerful. I believe I have stepped up as an adult for Tony and forever be a part of his life.

Ever since this English Camp I began to act in ways that I would've never done in the past. I've grown to a point where I filter everything before I speak unlike the immature children that called Tony a "retard". I've grown to a point where I am even more passionate in helping others especially if it means I get back the sensation I got when I helped Tony. I've also become very good at understanding people and complimenting for their good attributes like I did for Tony.