"a helpless laboratory mouse in the US schools" - College Essay

I really need help with this essay. I know that there's lots of grammar mistakes, but due to my limited English skills, I can't really find them and don't really know a way to fix them. So please, proof read, give me some advice and correct any of mistakes I've made.

Also, I am having a problem with the conclusion. So if you have an idea what I could write, please let me know.

Thank you in advance!

Prompt: Choose an issue of importance to you-the issue could be personal, school related, local, political, or international in scope-and write an essay in which you explain the significance of that issue to yourself, your family, your community, or your generation.

Schools in the U.S. have made me feel like a helpless laboratory mouse searching for a piece of savory cheese in a meandering maze. A mouse, trapped in the cage of anxiety and apprehension, barely making a living under the people's scrutiny, is what I was. The anxiety, not able to find the unblocked way which leads to a piece of cheese that I could smell, is what I felt. And the apprehension of being trapped between the walls and dying before I get to taste the cheese is what I worried. Having had lived as a mouse for the last six years, I found myself deplorable and pathetic, and I thought it was finally time for me to get out of that cage.

With a luggage full of clothes and a passport on my hand, I came to the United States on May 13, 2003. At the tender age of 12, I was just elated to have a car in the family, eat fast foods everyday, and sleep on my own bed. But soon after, I had learned that starting a new life in another country was not the way I pictured and realized that getting myself adapted to a new culture was difficult than I had ever imagined, especially when it came to school.