IELTS Writing task 2: High consumption of soft beverages - reasons and solutions

Sugar-based drinks issue

People are having more and more sugar-based drinks. What are the reasons? What are the solutions to make people drink less?

High consumption of soft beverages is emerging as a contentious topic of today's society. This practice is attributed to some main reasons and can be addressed by definite methods associated with sugar-based drinks taxation and the provision of health information.

People increasingly drink sweetened beverages which results from different factors. Firstly, the sweet taste in beverages containing sugar encourages customers, especially youngsters, to purchase and consume them. As most soft drinks include sugar-related ingredients, they stimulate the palate and heighten taste sensations which make drinkers become more interested in these beverages. In Vietnam, for instance, they could be an essential part in daily meals since only when some children have this kind of drink do they can finish their meals. Another compelling reason is that in competitive market of soft beverages, sugary drinks companies create tremendous marketing strategies which attract a great number of buyers. These drink conglomerates run advertisement campaigns on televisions or social media and presently, an effective way is advertising products with eminent stars. Pepsi, which is the quintessence of this marketing trend, is a preferable choice of drinkers because Messi, the most famous football player, represents it.

The massive soft beverages' consumption can be solved by the following remedies. The government could levy more tax on sweetened drinks which could discourage consumers from purchasing them. The rise in the price of these beverages can place financial pressure on average-income working people. Therefore, they might consume less soft drinks. Additionally, as drinks containing sugar produce some adverse effects on human health such as obesity and diabetes, the authorities can diffuse the information about both physical and mental health deterioration of these unhealthy beverages to the public through mass media. Some short videos about health hazards and the organization of some educational propaganda and events with health experts could allow consumers to enhance their awareness of undesirable effects of sweetened drinks which is conducive to lower rate of people consuming them.

In conclusion, great level of drinking sugar-based products is caused by different reasons, including their taste and clever marketing methods, and can be diminished by the imposition of higher tax and more health campaigns. It is recommended that people should lower their consumption of these beverages for the sake of their health.