High salary or a good work atmosphere. Discursive Essay IELTS

Some people think that high salary is important when choosing a company to work for, while others think that a good working atmosphere is more important. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

labour conditions are more important than an income

While some consider that a worthwhile job should be highly remunerative, others hold the opinion that working under favourable conditions is an even much more valuable factor in job selection. This essay will examine both of these points and will support the idea of the importance of a positive working environment because this is what affects both employee's health and working efficiency.

On the one hand, money is widely known as a prime motivating factor for any potential worker in order to afford a decent way of living both for himself and his family. In other words, the higher income a person gets the better living conditions he lives in, the fancier things he may allow to acquire, and the more travelling opportunities he could seize. These material benefits, in turn, bring a sense of personal fulfilment and high self-esteem. For example, the research collected by the National Academy of Sciences found that the emotional welfare of a well-paid individual rises by 40% along with pay increment.

On the other hand, it can be argued that working in a healthy work environment is something that must be taken into consideration as a matter of priority. In fact, I do support this idea because, if an employee is put under adverse working conditions, this is likely to make him feel dissatisfied with his job, which might result in reducing working productivity. Instead of doing his best at the workplace, a person will be concerned about coping with a dead-end job. Furthermore, positive atmosphere at work may have a beneficial effect on human health. Several studies of the World Health Organization showed that this factor diminishes the possibility of such health problems as depression, overstress, or sick building syndrome.

To sum up, despite the fact that high income is considered to be extremely vital for picking a decent workplace, I personally agree with the idea that pleasant labour conditions are an even more major aspect since it enables to prevent health issues and lead to outstanding performance at the workplace.