IELTS;High sales are due to requirements, not because of power of advertisements

Today, high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold.

To what extent you agree or disagree?

In today's competitive world, the domineering factor that determines the success of many manufacturing companies is, to invent a new product based on the real needs of the society. There has been much debate over the topic whether success of a consumer good is as a result of intensive advertising or because it is because it is closely related to real needs of the society.

We must acknowledge that success would not eventually follow by just inventing the product. It has to be introduced to the society through certain means of advertising. Therefore many companies provide major share of their budget for introducing the new product to the society. This shows the importance of advertising in determining the success of a product. In fact, there are many products which meet the requirements of the society, but failed to provide fruitful results due to lack of proper knowledge about the product in the society.

Nevertheless, people would not buy any product if it does not meet their needs. During the initial period, when a new product is introduced, high sales of the product may be because of advertising. But, as the time proceeds people would be reluctant to buy the product if does not serve their purpose which would eventually result in failure of the product. Moreover, the needs of people are not constant over a period of time. Therefore many companies give equal importance for inventing new products based on the current needs of people in the society.

By considering these factors I would like to conclude that inventing a new product is equally important to advertising the product to the society, however the former wins a slight advantage in comparison. Therefore high sales of consumer goods are largely as a result of meeting the requirements of the society not just because of intensive advertising.