HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS WITH THE LEARNING OF ENGLISH: PROBLEMS AND SUGGESTIONS ESSAY

NAME: LE THI THUY TRANG

CLASS: 10 ENGLISH

LE QUY DON GIFTED HIGH SCHOOL

HIGH SCHOOL STUDENTS WITH THE LEARNING OF ENGLISH:

PROBLEMS AND SUGGESTIONS

Nowadays, English plays an international language role, learning English is strongly encouraged. However, not all students get the advantage for English studies because of problems: the lack of meeting foreigners, the pressure of other subjects and the neglect attitudes of teachers and students. This urgently calls for suggestions such as creating chances for English communication, spending time on all subjects and appreciating the importance of English in their future.

Firstly, English is prone to be learnt on a larger scale than ever before, but it is my opinion that students' passion for English has been put off by obstacles. To clarify, the lack of meeting foreigners makes it impossible for students to be self-confident. Regrettably, students are, consequently, apt to be reluctant to learn this subject Furthermore, the pressure of other subjects distracts students from being absorbed in English. To illustrate, how can a student take priority over English while he or she must handle a heavy load of tasks of Math, Physics, Chemistry, etc, which not only requires him to give much care but also takes him lots of time? Above all, both teachers and students mean to pay little attention to learning English because they believe that English is not the compulsory subject that students have to sit in their entrance exam to university. Thus, learning English is not considered to do in order of precedence.

Generally speaking, recognizing these problems stimulates us to rack our brains to come up with solutions. Firstly, I think that the high schools should favor their students' communicating in English by inviting foreign professors to attend in classes. Because the more students talk to foreigners, the more fluently and naturally they communicate. Secondly, besides appreciating mandatory subjects, students should develop passion for English by singing English songs, reading newspapers in English. Finally, when education background becomes much important in career development, every company chooses those having better English certificates than others. As a result, it is advisable to realize the importance of English.

All things considered, to my way of thinking, although many problems posed to be in the high school students' way of learning English, they, who are aware of the necessity of English, will come up with the suggestions to these disadvantages, as well as consider learning English as an ideal way to relax after a hardworking day.