Some high schools forced their students to do volunteer work in order to graduate. Give your opinion

Should volunteer work at school be compulsory?

In recent years, the question if students should do volunteer work in order to graduate has been receiving a great public attention. Although this trend is not without the advantages, the downsides will justify these.

There are several negative influences on students if they are forced to do volunteer. First, since students are already suffering enough pressure from school, volunteer work can make it worse with busy working schedules, leading to anxiety disorders of students. In fact, students should be encouraged to to spend their free time on leisure activities and sports with their friends and family, which can increased their work productivity at schools. Second, some students might be too centrate on volunteer work, which may lead to bad results at school that should be their main issues. This means that students could not have enough in- depth knowledge in order to graduate and get higher education, which affects their career opportunities in the future.

At the same time, society is not believed to gain anything from obliging young people to do unpaid work.First, forcing a group of people to do something against their will goes against the values of free and society. For instance, students would be stressed if they are obliged to do worrk they do not want and might have behaviour which are against society. Second, parents of student may think their child are being used which can lead to arguments in society.

Plenty of evidence suggest that volunteer work can be very good for students as long as young people are willing to do it, which turns out to be an ideal chance for students to improve social skills.

In conclusion, with the convincing argument mentioned above, volunteer work should not be compulsory for students to graduate.