Higher Education for Work and Perspectives - IELTS

Many people say that the only way to guarantee getting a good job is to complete a course of university education. Others claim that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work.

For a lot of people, a course completion in a university is the absolute path to ensure a significant occupation in spite of the high cost. However, other people think that starting to work directly after finishing school and obtaining work experience are much better. Nevertheless, some manual jobs are now done by machines. Therefore, I strongly believe that people should set their career goal first prior to making any decisions towards a higher education.

For many people, the only way to guarantee getting a good job is to complete a course of university education. It is based on the ultimate reason that a degree can open the door to better employment prospects. A 2010 revealed that university graduates earn approximately 60% higher salaries than high school diplomas in Asia region. The study also pointed out that all top management positions are occupied by those with a degree. Thus, university graduates have a bigger chance of more significant career.

Another perspective is that it is better to start work after school and gain experience in the world of work since there are plenty of opportunities in customer service sectors such as restaurants. According to Indonesia Manpower Department, 6 out of 7 positions are available for high school diplomas. Hence, school graduates can be employed in such industry.

Despite the aforementioned opportunity for high school diploma holders, repetitive manual jobs are now by machines so there is a chance of them being terminated by the employer. For example, the manufacturing company in which I worked at terminates their workers twice a year due to their automation process at the assembly line. Owing to this fact, employees who work directly after graduating school are at risk of losing their jobs.

In conclusion, those who go the extra miles by completing further education in university gain better employment opportunities. On the other hand, people who start to work after graduating high school could be terminated by the companies if their jobs are repetitive. Finally, I am convince that people should have a clear goals in regard to their career before deciding on a pursuing a higher education at university.